Robin Hood Democracy

The Indian government is in the act again, doing what it does the best – playing the robin hood. In all its wisdom, the government deemed it fit that I, the taxpayer, take responsibility and pay up for my fellow citizen’s hatred for the girl child. How illuminating! But babus of my homeland, may I point out two reasons why this scheme is a no go. First, it involves government spending money. More specifically, money which it did not earn, ipso facto, money which it does not care about. Second, it involves the girl child. Letting the government, which is not exactly known for setting benchmarks on ethics, handle the issue of raising the most underprivileged, over-exploited lot amongst us all, isn’t what they would call a particularly brilliant idea. (I can’t seem to locate an electronic copy of CIF report on Apna ghar, Goa. That report would illustrate the case in point).

Now I could argue against the stupidity of this program on so many different levels, but I will limit myself to the most fundamental of reasons. This will probably make me look like the most heartless dog on this side of the galaxy, but oh well, here goes. You may think female feticide is immoral (I may or may not agree, that’s completely besides the point), your idea of a better society maybe a more gender balanced one (mine could be one where everyone owned a Ferrari). But the question here is why do I have to pay up for someone else’s stupidity, or to support someone else’s idea of a better society? And yes, that is a rhetorical question.

4 responses to “Robin Hood Democracy

  1. yes. sadly thats the most we can say – they are at it again. They do what they can do best – make laws, come up with schemes. But who’s going to implement and enforce the existing and the new laws/schemes? Nobody cares. It sucks.

    Also, Renuka Chawdhary has got nuts. I think she was hanging around with Arjun Singh a lot.

  2. Pulling thy leg V2.0-

    A part of taxes we pay also go towards sponsoring Haj pilgrimage for my fellow butchers, and that, by a secular Govt.

    This one is atleast not that bad!

  3. Also, Renuka Chawdhary has got nuts. I think she was hanging around with Arjun Singh a lot.

    At least in Arjun Singh’s case, it was designed to help them electorally. This is not even going to help her, she’s truly nuts.

  4. @ritesh:
    Renuka Chawdhary has got nuts.

    I think so too :P

    @K-boy: All of those laws stem from the same robin hood story that the founding fathers were so fond of.

    @BD:
    At least in Arjun Singh’s case, it was designed to help them electorally.

    Given her portfolio, I think she is doing her best to suck up on those populist votes :D

Leave a Reply

