The Eclipse and The Crystal Gazer

Couple of wonderful, short pieces of poetry that I chanced upon and don’t want to lose.

The Eclipse

I stood out in the open cold
To see the essence of the eclipse
Which was its perfect darkness.
I stood in the cold on the porch
And could not think of anything so perfect
As mans hope of light in the face of darkness.

-Richard Eberhart

The Crystal Gazer

I shall gather myself into my self again,
I shall take my scattered selves and make them one.
I shall fuse them into a polished crystal ball
Where I can see the moon and the flashing sun.
I shall sit like a sibyl, hour after hour intent.
Watching the future come and the present go –
And the little shifting pictures of people rushing
In tiny self-importance to and fro.

-Sara Teasdale

One response to “The Eclipse and The Crystal Gazer

  1. some wonderful poetry there!

Leave a Reply

